Depressed To Top Of The World (My Story In 4 Minutes)

I’ve always been obsessed with running my own business.

I can remember back when I graduated high school thinking, “I want to be an architect” (I was always interested in design).

Thinking of going to school for another 8 years did not appeal to me, so I did the next best thing.

I got my real estate license and was selling houses at 18 years old.

That first year was some of the best times in my life. I was making a ton of money (at least it felt like it at the time) and having an absolute blast doing it.

I was on top of the world.

Then it all came crashing down.

Year two in real estate was a deep struggle for me, I saw no growth in my life and I got very depressed.

I floundered around for the entire year barely making the same income I did in year one, and was hating life.

I finally was at a place where I had enough.

So, I got a new job.

The change was a welcome one for me, I was loving the structure behind my cubicle (again feeling cool with my new job title “Tech Sales”).

The excitement lasted only a few months this time, but I felt stuck.

  • “Why do I feel like this?”

  • “I should be excited about this new opportunity.”

  • “I should just be grateful I even have a job.”

I decided to push through.

It was another 18 months of suffering until I finally did it.

I quit.

I had no direction outside of knowing a few things:

  1. I hated working for someone else.

  2. I have a passion for film.

  3. I wanted to run my own business.

So, that’s exactly what I did.

(I will share the full story of how I built my business in another letter.)

What matters now is that I am living the life of my dreams. I get to write, create content, and help others grow their personal brands and scale their businesses every day.

I get to:

  • Wake up when I want

  • Work on what I want

  • Work however long I want

  • Focus on personal growth and development (so I can get even better results for my clients)

  • Make an amazing income

I am genuinely much happier than I have been in years.

Not only is this possible for you, but far more achievable than some people make it seem.

Below is a graphic I created showing not just how I felt personally, but supporting a study done that says, “70% of Americans say they want to be self employed, but only 6% actually are”:

Most people give up before they ever realize what fills their soul and gives them fulfillment.

And the other % of people?

Have never even thought about it.

It leads me to wonder.

Why?

When you zoom out and think about life you really have two options:

  • Spend the next 10+ years of your life doing something that doesn’t fill your soul.

  • Finding what does, and stopping at nothing short of achieving it.

This may seem odd, but when is the last time you heard someone say:

“When I started my 7-figure, life fulfilling business last month…”

Probably not recently. Because you have to play the game for years before you can attain that level of success, and realize your full purpose. (99% of the time.)

When you play monopoly against an opponent, you can lose.

If you play a game against yourself, like solving a rubiks cube, you never lose. Unless you make a conscious decision to walk away for good.

Life is like a rubiks cube, not monopoly.

So, why should I care about my rubiks cube life?

The truth is, you don’t need to care.

You could walk away from this letter right now and continue making no active change in your life like the 99% who live their life on autopilot. (I have a feeling that isn’t you.)

Or:

You could take a moment and reflect.

A moment to reflect on what it is that you want to wake up 6 months to 12 months from now and have in your life.

Could be:

  • A happy & fulfilling relationship.

  • A business, career, or passion that fills you up everyday you get to work on it.

  • A new body that you look in the mirror and just, smile.

It could be something completely different. Only you can decide for yourself.

The actionable step you can take in this moment towards your better and more fulfilled life is simply awareness:

  1. Aware of your current reality

  2. Aware of your current trajectory

  3. Aware of the first step you need to take to adjust that course so you can be on target

Do this once and it will be a beneficial reminder, do this daily and you will achieve your goals without even trying. (Flip the script on autopilot life trajectory.)

Life without goals has no story.

Keep writing your story, being fully conscious and aware, and never stop solving your rubiks cube.

Your surf-loving friend,

Zeke

P.S. If you enjoy these letters, you might enjoy hearing my (probably a little too slow and methodical) voice talk about these same topics on my YouTube channel here: